Procedure II.2002.A.a, Shared Governance

Associated Policy Policy II.2002.A, Shared Governance

Procedure

Effective governance requires the active participation of faculty, staff, administrators, and students. San Jacinto College's philosophy of shared governance is substantiated in the vision, mission, and values of the College.

Shared governance promotes transparency on important issues affecting the College through collaboration, communication, and sharing of the various viewpoints to align and implement the strategic goals and annual priorities of the College. Collaboration and trust are integral to the partnerships created that support the overall academic quality of the institution and operational programs that are in the best interest of the College.

Instructional programs are the central focus of San Jacinto College operations. Faculty, faculty Department Chairs, and other leaders have important roles in the shared governance of the institution because they are directly involved in the teaching functions of the College that reinforce our commitment to student success.

The Shared Governance Structure for the College currently encompasses six categories. All active councils, committees, teams, employee organizations, and task forces will align under one of the following category types.

- 1. Academic and Technical
- 2. Student Support and Administrative
- 3. Employee Organizations
- 4. Values and Our People
- 5. Communication Forums
- 6. Workforce and Community

The Chancellor and other Strategic Leadership Team (SLT) members review input and recommendations from the various employee and student organizations and from campus and College-wide councils, committees, teams, task forces, and work groups. Additionally, under Policy II.2000A, *Policy and Procedure Development, Review, Revision, and Rescission*, changes to policies are submitted to the College community for feedback.

Date of SLT Approval	September 28, 2021
Effective Date	November 2, 2021
Associated Policy	Policy II.2002.A, Shared Governance

Primary Owner of Policy Associated with the Procedure	Chancellor
Secondary Owner of Policy Associated with the Procedure	Deputy Chancellor & President