Music students break records

Mar 1, 2023Melissa Trevizo

Twenty-seven San Jacinto College music students have been selected for two-year college All-State choir, jazz band, and symphonic band — the highest honor community college music students can achieve.

"This is the largest group of students we've ever had make these honor ensembles, and we are incredibly proud of them," said Lynne Brandt, department chair, music and audio engineering.

Led by Professor Michael Mizma, the Central Campus Steel Band will also perform selections from its recent world premiere concerts at a Texas Music Educators Association Convention showcase in San Antonio. Mizma submitted ensemble recordings in spring 2022 for a blind audition. This honor is rarely granted to community college ensembles.

Central Campus student Vincent Del Angel also ranks as the first San Jac student to win the Texas Community College Band Directors Association concerto competition. He will perform with the all-state symphonic band at TMEA.

These students auditioned and were selected for All-State honors:

All-State Choir Ensemble:

  • Cris Casas
  • Kendall Craft
  • Logan DeLaFuente
  • Coleson Dorsett
  • Miya Hayes
  • Sterling Merrill
  • Ayana Nguyen Echeverry
  • Alan Phan
  • Mariana Vazquez
  • Lorna Watson
  • Keondre Walker

All-State Jazz Band:

  • Nahum Fuentes
  • Juan Garcia
  • Shawn Niles

All-State Symphonic Band:

  • R.J. Andrade
  • Carlos Chavarria
  • Vincente DelAngel
  • Carissa Dixon
  • Joshua Garcia
  • Carlos Hernandez
  • Liliana Lopez
  • Gabby Martinez
  • Zach Patterson
  • Cohen Perkins
  • Luis Rodriguez
  • Steven Villanueva
  • Ariana Zambrano

Steel Band Members:

  • Jose Arellano
  • Ryan Becker
  • David Berlin
  • Angela Beyer
  • Nick Cook
  • Nathan Forero
  • Gabriela Garcia
  • Joshua Garcia
  • Vivian Gonzalez
  • Serina Guerra
  • Carlos Hernandez
  • Danielle Kubala
  • Mai Massey
  • Izarely Mata
  • Chase McKnight
  • Sullivan Murphy
  • Chris Nava
  • Romeo Ramirez
  • Lara Rios
  • Lara Rivera
  • Triston Robinson
  • Jon Rodriguez
  • Jessica Soto
  • Dario Trevino
Categorized As